South Park (Season 2) DVD Review

christmas sunset 11
Source: Flickr

First airing in late summer 1997, South Park became an American pop culture phenomenon with its raw and politically-incorrect examination of social issues, and of course, a bit of lewd yet cartoon humor.
The brainchild of friends Trey Parker and Matt Stone, South Park became the centerpiece of cable channel Comedy Central’s original prime time schedule. Chronicling the lives of fourth graders in the Colorado township of South Park (a place famous for its oddball happenings), the series is anchored by crude animation, yet the characters work, as they voice the writers’ uncanny wit, hilarious one-liners, and all-out offensive humor. Whether you love it or hate it, South Park is nonetheless a truly original animation series much deserving of its massive commercial attention.

The South Park (Season 2) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere “Terrance & Phillip in ‘Not Without My Anus'” in which Stan, Kyle, and Kenny do not appear (with only a short cameo by Cartman). Instead, the entire episode revolves around minor characters Terrance and Phillip (part of an April Fool’s joke since that day was the original airing of this episode). In the episode, Terrance must go to Iraq to rescue his kidnapped daughter while Saddam Hussein plots to invade Canada… Other notable episodes from Season 2 include “Cartman’s Mom is Still a Dirty Slut” in which it is revealed that Cartman’s father is really his hermaphrodite mother who impregnated another woman, and “Merry Christmas Charlie Manson!” in which the boys befriend escaped convict Charlie Manson (who learns the true meaning of Christmas) in this spoof of the famous Charlie Brown Christmas special…

Below is a list of episodes included on the South Park (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 14 (Terrance & Phillip in “Not Without My Anus”) Air Date: 04-01-1998
Episode 15 (Cartman’s Mom is Still a Dirty Slut) Air Date: 04-22-1998
Episode 16 (Ike’s Wee Wee) Air Date: 05-20-1998
Episode 17 (Chickenlover) Air Date: 05-27-1998
Episode 18 (Conjoined Fetus Lady) Air Date: 06-03-1998
Episode 19 (The Mexican Staring Frog of Southern Sri Lanka) Air Date: 06-10-1998
Episode 20 (City on the Edge of Forever) Air Date: 06-17-1998
Episode 21 (Summer Sucks) Air Date: 06-24-1998
Episode 22 (Chef’s Salty Chocolate Balls) Air Date: 08-19-1998
Episode 23 (Chickenpox) Air Date: 08-26-1998
Episode 24 (Roger Ebert Should Lay Off the Fatty Foods) Air Date: 09-02-1998
Episode 25 (Clubhouses) Air Date: 09-23-1998
Episode 26 (Cow Days) Air Date: 09-30-1998
Episode 27 (Chef Aid) Air Date: 10-07-1998
Episode 28 (Spooky Fish) Air Date: 10-28-1998
Episode 29 (Merry Christmas Charlie Manson!) Air Date: 12-09-1998
Episode 30 (Gnomes) Air Date: 12-16-1998
Episode 31 (Prehistoric Ice Man) Air Date: 01-20-1999

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *